· 

What is coaching?

Speaking of myself, I would say that I am an helpful person. I always try to help if possible - we are not speaking of cooking, there it is less possible. Joking aside, for me, it is important that I am doing my part, my bit if I can... if I was in the counterposition, I also would like to get help, won't I?

 

In the last weeks, it has happened that I slipped in a role, I usually have not been.

I actually do not know, whether you can call it coaching or not. That is also the reason why the title today is rather a question. 

Either way, I want to tell you about these kind of discussions I had and how they went.

 

The first two were the last week with a person that is very important for me and that needs help but does not ask for it nor accepts the fact that an issue is actually there. I did not want to stress out the result this issue is causing but only asked to reflect what was going on, why this person acted in a certain way, what there is that could be done and finally suggested what I was thinking and how things could work out better. 

 

The second case was yesterday after work. One of or young interns that got an unexpected opportunity does not know what to do and if to take it or to continue with her original plans. In this case, she asked me first what my history was, so I explained the choices I made based on what I wanted but also on what time had in store for me. You know that I believe that things always come around as they have to and that they align with us in a certain way - this I explained to her.

After telling her about me, I again started out asking her what were her plans, her dreams and if she could also imagine to take this opportunity or not.

To her, it was a black or white decision. But what if not? What if, there are also shades of grey? And it is not important how many...

 

In the end, it was all about listening. Listening, asking again and trying to find ways out together with the other one. I also had different people in my life who helped me growing, staying by my side and asking what there was that could be done. Analysing. Reflecting.

Maybe this is what coaching is about, I actually do not know. What I know for sure, is that it is a pleasure to help!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0