· 

Freedom equals responsibility

Aretha Franklin sang "Freedom, freedom, oh freedom!" in her song "Think". This maybe should remind us that every kind of freedom, of liberty, should be taken with responsibility. 

 

This week I have driven after a long period of time again, after years. And you know what? I feel mighty every time, I get in the car and can drive, may it only be to next drugstore to get some chips! But it is the feeling that I am free to drive everywhere I want, when I want, without being dependent on somebody or some absurd timetables. 
It is a new kind of liberty for me and it truly is awesome but sitting at the wheel and waiting for the traffic lights to become green, yesterday I realised that I had the physical integrity of various people in my hands! I was taking my brother to the driving school - irony of the fate -  and I realised that I was caring about him, me and other persons, I do not even know, as I was the one who drove.

 

I am really happy that I can drive and don't get me wrong, the responsibility does not scare me! I know what I do! It was only a moment in which I actually understood that a new freedom means more responsibility. This is why we have to become more mature and learn to do certain things as for example drive, but also doing some internships, to finally get the freedom to do our stuff on our own.

 

Nonetheless, after doing an internship and getting the aspired leading position, we also have the responsibility not only of leading and so teaching the people who are under us, but also of supervising them for getting the best end result. In a leading position, one has the power to do what he or she thinks, it is best. This is the liberty... and that was the responsibility. One has only to think about it, to bare it in mind.

 

So, with a new freedom, I am the one in charge now, I am the one liable. 
I feel ready for a new responsibility and you?

 

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0