· 

A man's world

"This is a man's world, a man's world but it would be nothing without a woman or a girl." sang James Brown back in the 60s.

Fortunately, - especially for us women - we are not in the sixties anymore... Strong and powerful women have demonstrated that we can be whatever we want to and that we aren't predestined to stay behind the cooker and to do laundry the whole day. Actually, the most beautiful, strong and independent misses I know, take both roles; they work and nevertheless are "housewives"!

 

Now, you will think: "Arianna, how do you come up with this issue?" Welllll... This week I witnessed to a for me impudent and inappropriate comment from a man to woman during my working hours.

I won't say get into details - also because maybe I am overreacting, I don't know... the concerned woman was much more relaxed than me to tell the truth... The point is that we were discussing an issue and it is normal that different point of views occur but then somebody came up with a sentence which I found very sexist.

 

My thoughts were... "Ok, will this also happen to me when I am going to be at a higher position? Is it only because I am a woman?" I do not think that this is fair and it confused me.
On the other hand, I think that this attitude some men may have will not go away if we women let us confuse ourselves by it. As strong powerful women, which we are, we should not let this kind of comment bother us... exactly as the woman I was talking about did. A shout out to you, well done!

 

This was a lesson which I learned this week. Our world may be a man's world but we women can decide on how to take this world... because in the end it is nothing without a woman or a girl.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0