· 

When a Christmas movie inspires

Almost 20 years have passed since the movie with Kate Beckinsale and John Cusack, named "Serendipity" first came out.

I am surely not a Christmas movie fanatic but this one is cute to watch with some candles lit, under a cozy blanket in a cold winter night.

First things first: If you do not know the terminology "Serendipity" and you start the movie, you may first think that it is named after that gorgeous café in NYC. But...

 

You must know that the word "Serendipity" (German: Serendipität, Italian: serendipità) was an English neologism coined by the author Horace Walpole. Soooo, what does it mean? It is a fortunate incident! A coincidence maybe, which has a real happy and lucky result.

 

I think that everybody has lived at least once a serendipity incident. You take a path which you were not supposed to take and meet someone who becomes special to you, you fall down the stairs with different ingredients in your basket and the result is the currywurst as you can read in Uwe Timm's novel or loads and loads of inventions and discoveries... think about Columbus who wanted to conquer the Indies and landed in America.

 

Now, I think that already the sound of the word "serendipity" inspires joy, it is so musical, don't you think? But the message behind it is so much better. You can expect to live a really lucky thing everytime. It may be a coincidence but you will get so much more out of it. 

 

You may know that I think that some things have to happen and no, I do not believe in case as such. So I hope and have faith to get as many serendipity moments as possible. Moments which will bring me further in a moment in which I maybe did not ask for it but which will bring so much joy, happiness and fulfilment.

And as Christmas is around the corner, I wish the same to you! 
I wish you all a Winter Wonderland, Merry Christmas and a Santa Claus [who] is coming to town!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0