· 

In ten years from now

"Imagine there's no countries

It isn't hard to do

Nothing to kill or die for

And no religion, too

 

Imagine all the people

Living life in peace"   - John Lennon

 

Imagine - it's easy if you try, he said! But is it really?

 

As kids we used to have the most incredible fantasy: we jumped on the sofas having burning floors, we were Captian Hook playing with a hanger, we imagined we were older using Mom's make-up and liming on her high heels; who remembers? 

 

Why am I writing about imagination? Well, this week I listened to a Ted Talk (yes, I like Ted Talks very much - I actually had forgotten how much!) and the guy on stage made me think about the fact that remembering an event is really much easier than thinking about what could come, than imagining how and where we will be, for instance, in ten years from now.

 

The reason surely may be that we do not know which events will inquire in the course of these ten years, so yes, it is difficult to imagine what really will happen. Anyway, I think that we should at least try! 

 

So... How and where? This two questions will determine a lot the structure which will set up our lives. And here you can work with your dreams or also with reality of facts. I could say, I imagine seeing myself living in Manhattan, NYC in ten years - but it is really what I want, living in such a big metropole? Maybe if I see me in NYC, Staten Island would be more appropriate...?

 

Then, do I see myself with kids? Do I run my own business? Am I a manager? What am I passionate about? Ask yourself all these questions! Dream a bit and use some probabilities, too. And so, you can imagine! And also create!

 

You know, when I was a teenager I used to say this one sentence "Only who's got dreams can fulfil them, that is why I continue dreaming!" And there is a lot in this sentence: there is the imagination of dreams, there is the hope to fulfil them and also the will of not giving up!

 

You still do not get, what I meant by "as you can imagine, you can also create"? Well, to create something - in this case, your future - one should have at least a little in mind, how this something should look like, also a plain idea to work on could help further! And as you as a kid could imagine yourself flying an aeroplane, you surely can still today... Do you still want it? Then work for it and I will see you in ten years from now!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0