· 

Me and my hairstyles

I have always loved to play with my hair creating different styles. It is even written in my year book characteristic! "She had always experimented with her hair, from open and straightened to a complicated braided hairstyle, we have seen it all." And a few years later, I still love to experiment with my hair.

 

I never had mermaid hair or very extravagant styles which were not reversible... When it comes to colours, a few highlights or a balayage were the maximum. But I often did various hairstyles and changed my look into something different for a little while. 

 

When I was little, my Mum always made me some baby buns on the top of my head - such as Miley Cyrus is known for, to let you understand what I mean... Well, I never stopped to wear them and still do now with 24 years! They are kind of my signature hairstyle if you ask my old time friends! 

 

Usually, I wear my hair more or less straight with a lot of volume and that is how I like it most. Once in a while, I will straighten it or curl it with hot tools or maybe apply some mousse and use the diffuser to dry it; the result are wavy curls. 

This year, maybe due to Corona, I recreated a tutorial which I had seen on TiKToK: the Sock Method. Put a sock on top of your wet hair, and curl this around the sock. The next morning really beautiful curls will appear with a five minutes effort. I also posted a tutorial about it once! This summer, this has been my go-to hairstyle. I have been asked a lot how I did this and some people also recreated it! So funny! 

 

And this week? I was an Afro-Arianna as C. said!

It is the third year in a row that I do my hair like this and every year there are some people who do not recognise me anymore! "Have you done a perm?!" No... with the next hair wash, these curls will go away. So you ask yourself, how I did them then? With straws! It may sound strange, but I think the result is considerable! And no... For the moment, I do not think that I will share a picture of my head full of straws with you. There are different tutorials on youtube, you can go and watch them! 

By the way, what surprises me every year is how short my hair becomes. Usually, my hair reaches my bellybutton and if you look left, now it is shoulder length! 

 

P. asked me why I am not an "hairfluencer" with all the fun I have experimenting. The truth is that I think that there are many other people who do this in a more committed way than me. I simply have fun, changing my appearance in a not permanent way - in this case, it is like trying to be someone other for a while... But I surely could not do this on a daily basis.

Either way, due to his question I thought that a blog post about my hair also could tell a bit about myself this week.

 

I want to conclude this blog post explaining the caption I used this week when I posted a photo of my with this afro hairstyle. "I can change a lot but look me in the eyes... And I will always be the same."  Maybe I like to change my appearance, I try different looks, different hairstyles, sometimes I also like to act and try to be a different person. But the truth is that I have always liked to do this - to put myself "in other people's shoes" so to say and maybe also see how the people around me react to that. I am sure that not everybody would do this because you have to know that comments can come across and you have to deal with them. But this is how I am and how I have always been... if you look me in the eyes, I will always be the same.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0