· 

My "Old money aesthetic"

One thing which you may not know about me is that my granny from mother's side as well as my great-aunt from father's side are tailors. Consequently, both my parents grew up in handmade clothes and surrounded by fashion styles. Is it really a surprise that I absolved a Vogue Course at the Condé Nast College, though? 

 

Talking with both my grandma and my aunt in different occasions, they told me from when they began to buy the big designer brands, we nowadays know like Armani or Max Mara so to say... They both told me that they did not actually know the names of these fashion designers, but they indeed recognised the quality of the materials as well as the manufacture with all the stitches and details and so on.

They appreciated what they knew costed a lot of work! As a result my parents were raised in this environments and hence here is one of your merriest fashion lovers!

 

Either way, in the title I teased something about the Old Money Aesthetic and being a fashion lover does not mean loving the old money aesthetic, does it? 

First of all, what is the old money aesthetic? For those who are not familiar with the term, I would suggest you to think of the people you image yourself playing golf in a country club, maybe gambling in Monaco or riding a horse in the Hamptons.

If this mental exercise, did not help, GQ magazine recently wrote: "The "old money" aesthetic is also called "quiet luxury" because it is based on traditional, conservative garments and brands. It is fashion without logomania and without extravagant silhouettes." Better now?

 

Thinking of way my granny and aunty sewed, they surely made traditional and conservative garments. But you may have seen some of my outfit. Most are black and white, that is true - but I do not know, if I am that quiet...

A few weeks ago, I found this collage about the old money aesthetic on Pinterest and saved it onto my photo roll.

Have you seen? There even is a snippet from Gossip Girl! But not only, in this picture, you can see luxury items as this gold watch or the wool blanket that truly are not so quiet if you know them! Either way, this is the old money aesthetic I like! Elegant and classy as well as recognisable if you have a trained eye!

 

You may say, it is only the fashion vibe right now. That everyone right now sees this trend on TikTok and maybe that it will fade away in a while... And you may be right. Yes, this is a TikTok trend right now and yes, trends tend to fade out somewhen but elegance and class do not!

I am sure that there will always be a place and a time for the old equestrian style, for the old cable knit sweater and the burnt leather accessories. It has for almost hundred years now!

 

As you know, I am a big Gossip Girl fan - this was also one of the first images I saw from the collage! Of course, I have to love this aesthetic which reminds me of Blair, Chuck and the Hamptons! But... nevertheless, I know my style. And yes, as said earlier I am not sooo quiet, only a bit. Therefore, also the sparkly pop Gossip Girl side; the subtle logos, which for instance are there; the high-contrast accents that flow into one another; and the muted playfulness of a young 26-year old confident woman.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0