· 

Fast fashion & consumption

We all know it: the fashion industry is one of the most polluting industries there are and as a fashionista (please let me call myself this way), it is hard to accept.

 

As is often the case, the problem lies upstream of the situation and it is our fast pace lifestyle which consequentially leads us being bored of continuity as we are not accustomed to it anymore.

I know that earlier the big design houses brought up two to four collections per year: respectively Spring-Summer and Fall-Winter for Haute Couture and Prêt-à-Porter. Today we have Cruise, Neige, Métiers-d'Art and so on and so forth.

 

As in a vicious circle, the bigger high street brands as Zara, H&M & Co. have to launch themselves, many and many designs a year in order to respond to the demand created by the people who perhaps look up to all the diverse finer fashion brands but prefer spending their money otherwise. 

Now... I would be an hypocrite if now I threw Zara example given down from the tower. At least 75% of my entire wardrobe is branded Zara!... Nonetheless, I do not agree in saying that such brands are the bad. I believe that our habits could be the bad! 

 

As I have said, most of my clothes are from Zara - but what you do not know is that I have pieces of clothing in my closet which are eight years old and I continue wearing them non-stop! Not really what we would call "fast-fashion", is it?

Why? Because I want to feel the quality of these items. I want to see if a style may have long-time potential. I want to be sure that I like this particular color and that it suits me (Also I have lots of black outfits! It is my happy color!). This is how I like to shop for clothes!

Am I saying that I have so many clothes that I am not going to buy anything now as I have pieces from the last eight years in my wardrobe? Mhm... okay, probably not - I have to be honest... But for sure, I do not need x different leather skirts and mine is a few years old already.

 

So, you see? It is up to us! As always, it is up to our decisions and choices... I am convinced that fast fashion does not mean throw away. And you? What would you say?

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0