· 

Distraction leads to inspiration

In the last week, I had discussions with two persons of different ages, different sexes, different positions..., either way, the topic was the same: both were demotivated, with a bad attitude and bad mood - in a word, they were uninspired.

 

It would have not been true to say that I did not know how they felt but fortunately, I could tell them what my ways are to overcome such moments.

There are many strategies that I use but they all come down to one term - distraction!

 

May it be music - not emotional music though; this only drags you more down! - to dance it out; reading; watching a movie, better if a comedy; also painting is good - the point is taking our focus to something that you like and giving it the opportunity to absorb yor energy.

Absorbing energy sounds negative to you?

The truth is that your energy flows either way where your focus is but setting the focus yourself to something you like will automatically make you feel better.

 

I know, what I saying is not that witchcraft which Frank Sinatra used to sing. Nonetheless, I guess that especially in these moments it gets more difficult to think about ways that make you feel better, instead you maybe want to snuggle down in your (dark) room under the blanket listening to Adele or consuming many and many TikToks.

Do not tell me that you do not know what I am talking about.

 

You are asking what the difference between TikTok videos and a comedy is? There are indeed many but the biggest, I would say, is the intentionality! 

And by the way, there are good comedies out there - let me compile a list of 10 in a random order:

Copyright - Refinery29

  • The Devil wears Prada - to beat Miranda at her same game
  • How to lose a Guy in 10 Days - to learn and avoid cringe situations
  • Clueless - to dust off Jane Austen's Emma from the book shelves
  • Grease (or High School Musical) - to sing at the top of your lungs as you were 10 years old
  • Mr. & Mrs. Smith - to set everything in perspective listening to Mondo Bongo
  • Take the Lead - to get eager to finally learn tango
  • The Womanizer - if you want a refresh of the Christmas Carol with a nicer Scrooge
  • Home Alone II - even if it is summer as NYC during Christmas is always wonderful
  • Scandal in Sorrento - to see a real 60s beauty
  • ... your favourite childhood movie - because it is never too late see Peter Pan again

In the hope of having distracted you a bit, I also hope that I could inspire you to some nicer feelings!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0